School Crossing Supervisors

A School Crossing Supervisor program has commenced in the ACT at 20 crossing sites. School crossing supervisors (lollipop people) assist children to cross roads safely by directing traffic with a stop sign and providing instructions. They also help to manage the flow of pedestrians and motorists at the busiest crossings.

The program has two primary objectives:

  • to increase safety for children around ACT schools
  • to lessen parent concerns about safety, which will create school environments that are more conducive for active travel and help to create healthier and safer school communities.

The program focuses on crossings used by infant, primary school or special needs children.

Program delivery

HOBAN Recruitment has been engaged to recruit and manage the supervisors on behalf of the Territory. HOBAN has extensive experience delivering crossing supervisors for a number of councils in Victoria.

To register your interest in becoming a crossing supervisor, or to seek further information about the positions, contact HOBAN Recruitment.

Selection committee and process

A selection committee was formed to agree on a set of selection criteria and to select the priority sites for the pilot. The selection committee included representatives from:

  • Transport Canberra and City Services (including Roads ACT in an advisory capacity)
  • Education Directorate (including school principals)
  • Justice and Community Safety Directorate
  • ACT Council of Parents & Citizens Associations
  • Association of Independent Schools of the ACT
  • Catholic Education Office
  • Association of Parents and Friends of ACT Schools

Transport Canberra and City Services provided advice to the selection committee about how similar programs are delivered in other jurisdictions and the selection process used to prioritise sites.

Pedestrian and traffic volumes were collected at all crossings located adjacent to eligible schools. This data was also provided to the selection committee to consider.

The selection committee used this information in conjunction with the selection criteria below to agree on the crossings with the greatest need for a supervisor.

Selection criteria

To be considered an eligible site for a crossing supervisor in the ACT, the crossing must:

  • be located on the road network adjacent to a school
  • be used by early childhood, primary school or special needs children
  • be located within a 40km/h or 30km/h school zone.

A crossing that meets these criteria was then assessed based on:

Pedestrian and traffic volumes:

  • Minimum 300 vehicles per hour during the peak school periods
  • Pedestrian volumes x traffic volumes / 100

Safety considerations:

  • Previous incidents or near misses at a crossing
  • The number of primary school aged children likely to use a crossing
  • Challenging environments (e.g. the proximity of shopping centres, busy roads, hospitals etc.)
  • Speed

Proximity of other schools:

  • The potential for more than one school to benefit from a supervisor at a particular location

Potential to increase active travel:

  • The number of primary school age students at a school

School location:

  • A school’s geographic location in the ACT (to ensure there is a reasonable spread of supervisors across the Territory so children from all regions can benefit from the program)

Ride or Walk to School program participation:

  • Whether a school is participating in the program (given active travel is likely to be higher)

School Crossing Supervisor pilot schools

Based on the selection criteria above, the selection committee has prioritised the schools/crossings below to receive a supervisor as part of the program.

Amaroo School & Good Shepherd Katherine Ave (Pioneer St & Mornington St)
Brindabella Christian College Brigalow St (Boyd St & Longstaff St)
Canberra Girls Grammar School Grey St (Robe St & Empire Cct)
Chapman Primary School Streeton Dr (Darwinia Terrace & Fremantle Dr)
Florey Primary School Ratcliffe Crescent (Krefft St & Kesteven St)
Forrest Primary School National Cct (Hobart Ave & Franklin St)
Garran Primary School Gilmore Cres (Palmer St and Esson Pl)
Gold Creek School & Holy Spirit Primary School Kelleway Ave (Oldershaw Ct & Whatmore Ct)
Harrison School Wimmera St (Varne St & Topra St)
Hughes Primary School Groom St (Whittle St & Wark St)
Lyneham Primary School Brigalow St (Hall St & Longstaff St)
Majura Primary School Knox St (Windeyer St & Harvey St)
Mother Teresa School Mapleton Ave (Otway St & Wimmera St)
Namadgi School O'Halloran Cct (Jenke Cct & Jenke Cct)
Ngunnawal Primary School Wanganeen Ave (Yumba Ave & Guginya Cres)
Red Hill Primary School La Perouse St (Fortitude St & Dalrymple St)
St Clare of Assisi Primary Box Hill Ave (Heidelberg St & Handasyde St)
Sts Peter & Paul & Malkara School Wisdom St (Webster St & Boake Pl)
Trinity Christian School McBride Cr (Bromley St & Mackinnon St)
Turner School David St (Hay St & Sargood St)

The  School Crossing Supervisor program will help children and parents feel safe around schools, however it is not the only solution. Motorists and pedestrians still need to display appropriate behaviours in school zones to ensure the community remains safe.

Safer school environments will help to encourage a greater uptake of active travel by children, which will help to create a healthy community.

If you have any questions about the program, contact the TCCS Schools Program.

The ACT Government is committed to improving the accessibility of web content. To provide feedback or request an accessible version of a document please contact us or phone 13 17 10.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the ACT, the Ngunnawal people. We acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this city and this region.