In a life threatening emergency dial Triple Zero (000)

In a life threatening emergency dial Triple Zero (000)
ACT Public Hospitals

Canberra Hospital

5124 0000

Calvary Hospital

6201 6111

Mental Health

Call Mental Health Triage on

1800 629 354

(free call except from mobiles or public phones) or

6205 1065

Poisons Hotline

For a poison emergency in Australia call


Drug and Alcohol Help Line

The Drug and Alcohol Help Line is available 24-hours, 7 days a week on

5124 9977

Health Protection Service

For after hours urgent public health matters including environmental health, radiation safety, food poisoning and communicable disease management phone:

(02) 6205 1700


24 hour health advice

1800 022 222

ACT State Emergency Service

Emergency help
during flood or storms

132 500

School crossing supervisors

A School Crossing Supervisor program commenced in the ACT in 2018. The program commenced at 20 crossings in 2018, with another five crossings included from the beginning of the 2019 school year.

School crossing supervisors (lollipop people) assist children to cross roads safely by directing traffic with a stop sign and providing instructions. They also help to manage the flow of pedestrians and motorists at the busiest crossings.

The program has two primary objectives:

The program focuses on crossings used by infant, primary school or special needs children.

Program delivery

HOBAN Recruitment has been engaged to recruit and manage the supervisors on behalf of the Territory. HOBAN has extensive experience delivering crossing supervisors for a number of councils in Victoria.

To register your interest in becoming a crossing supervisor, or to seek further information about the positions, contact HOBAN Recruitment.

Selection committee and process

A selection committee was formed to agree on a set of selection criteria and to select the priority sites for the pilot. The selection committee included representatives from:

Transport Canberra and City Services provided advice to the selection committee about how similar programs are delivered in other jurisdictions and the selection process used to prioritise sites.

Pedestrian and traffic volumes were collected at all crossings located adjacent to eligible schools. This data was also provided to the selection committee to consider.

The selection committee used this information in conjunction with the selection criteria below to agree on the crossings with the greatest need for a supervisor.

Selection criteria

To be considered an eligible site for a crossing supervisor in the ACT, the crossing must:

A crossing that meets these criteria was then assessed based on:

Pedestrian and traffic volumes:

Safety considerations:

Proximity of other schools:

Potential to increase active travel:

School location:

Ride or Walk to School program participation:

School Crossing Supervisor schools

Based on the selection criteria above, the selection committee has prioritised the schools/crossings below to receive a supervisor as part of the program.

Amaroo School Katherine Ave (Pioneer St & Mornington St)
Brindabella Christian College Brigalow St (Boyd St & Longstaff St)
Canberra Grammar School (2019) Monaro Cres (Flinders Way & Golden Grove)
Canberra Girls Grammar School Grey St (Robe St & Empire Cct)
Chapman Primary School Streeton Dr (Darwinia Terrace & Fremantle Dr)
Duffy Primary (2019) Burrinjuck Cres (Jindabyne St & Somerset St)
Florey Primary School Ratcliffe Crescent (Krefft St & Kesteven St)
Forrest Primary School National Cct (Hobart Ave & Franklin St)
Garran Primary School Gilmore Cres (Palmer St and Esson Pl)
Gold Creek School & Holy Spirit Primary School Kelleway Ave (Oldershaw Ct & Whatmore Ct)
Good Shepherd Primary (2019) Burdekin Ave (Yule St & Leven St)
Harrison School Wimmera St (Varne St & Topra St)
Hughes Primary School Groom St (Whittle St & Wark St)
Lyneham Primary School Brigalow St (Hall St & Longstaff St)
Majura Primary School Knox St (Windeyer St & Harvey St)
Mother Teresa School Mapleton Ave (Otway St & Wimmera St)
Namadgi School O'Halloran Cct (Jenke Cct & Jenke Cct)
Ngunnawal Primary School Wanganeen Ave (Yumba Ave & Guginya Cres)
Red Hill Primary School La Perouse St (Fortitude St & Dalrymple St)
St Clare of Assisi Primary Box Hill Ave (Heidelberg St & Handasyde St)
St Francis of Assisi Primary (2019) Casey Cres (Were St & Loader Cres)
Sts Peter & Paul & Malkara School Wisdom St (Webster St & Boake Pl)
Torrens Primary (2019) Beasley St (Gouger St & Torrens Pl)
Trinity Christian School McBride Cr (Bromley St & Mackinnon St)
Turner School David St (Hay St & Sargood St)

The  School Crossing Supervisor program will help children and parents feel safe around schools, however it is not the only solution. Motorists and pedestrians still need to display appropriate behaviours in school zones to ensure the community remains safe.

Safer school environments will help to encourage a greater uptake of active travel by children, which will help to create a healthy community.

If you have any questions about the program, contact the TCCS Schools Program.


First Person Consulting was engaged to evaluate the School Crossing Supervisor program, highlighting positive results including:

School crossing supervisor program evaluation report (PDF 483KB).